I was about to get pissed… oh, and a weekly reflection

20160404_161156.jpg

I was getting frustrated when I was trying to load an image into a wiki page from Google Drive. After reading quite a bit of information from the internet on how to possibly do so, it turns out that it probably just won’t work. However, as I opened up my  blog I came up with a way that may work. I think if I upload the files here, then I can link the photos to my wiki page. Whew…

Anyway, things are going okay for my project. I was about to pour about 4 hours into my project last night when my boyfriend asked me to go for a walk around 6 p.m. before I started and during the walk he turned into my fiance! So, a ton of phone calls and Facetime conversations later, it was time for bed and I didn’t get anything done.

Anyway, things are going okay for my project. I was about to pour about 4 hours into my project last night when my boyfriend asked me to go for a walk around 6 p.m. before I started and during the walk he turned into my fiance! So, a ton of phone calls and Facetime conversations later, it was time for bed and I didn’t get anything done.

I made a wiki page connected to my KaiteeStewart wiki labeled DiagrammingSentencesKBS, but what I would like to do, and I think what Dr. M is looking for is something similar to this page by AnnaHamann. I seriously have no idea how to create something like that though. I tried one night for a few hours trying to figure it out, but I was unsuccessful.

Anyway, about my project, some complications I am having myself with setting it up is format. My daily journals about my experiences with learning and teaching are becoming very long and, frankly, I wonder if anyone will even want to read them. Like I mentioned my hatred of grammar before, I find it difficult to be attracted to anything associated with grammar, so I guess I’m jumping to the conclusion that nobody else will want to read it. If that’s the case, then I really need to figure out a way to spice up my page.

If anyone from class can tell me how to set up a page like AnnaHamann‘s please comment below to help. Otherwise, if you think I should be doing this in a completely different format, like the blog, please let me know. I defaulted to the wiki because I was going to have a ton of information in one area and I think a wiki can be more organized and more professional looking versus a blog.

I do have one page completed, clearly without the images right at this moment, but hopefully, I can get them up in a few minutes here. Ew, just looking at the page again made me cringe because it’s just a bunch of text with not a lot of anything else. I feel like my topic is still okay even though I am having my doubts, but I’m thinking the format/medium I am presenting my information on needs to change. Please give any input necessary. Here is a direct link to the wiki page with my project and my project proposal.

Please help!

Pictured above is the book that I use for my grammar instruction in my cassroom. Below are the two pages that I discuss on the wiki.

20160404_161221

20160404_161230

3 thoughts on “I was about to get pissed… oh, and a weekly reflection

  1. I’m jealous of the book you’re using to teach grammar. I want to buy it. I too share in your disdain for grammar and in the fear of looking like an idiot in front of students. In my opinion, grammar is a very small part of writing well. It functions more as a tool for polish, but oh well.
    In terms of trying to reformat your wiki I don’t know much. I ended up finding https://sites.google.com/ which helped me make my wiki. It’s not super high-tech and as aesthetically pleasing as the one you have linked, but feel free to look at the formatting of mine to see if it’s something that might work for you.
    Also, I totally just when and downloaded those three sources you have on your ‘resources’ page. It’s like midnight now, so I don’t feel up to reading them, but it will happen…someday.
    I appreciate your daily journal for the diagramming and whatnot. I like the way it’s written. Had I the book, I would be following along, ha-ha.
    Best of luck to you, Katie!

    Like

    1. Thank you for commenting! These books are honestly from 2003 and I like them quite a bit. I probably would have learned more if my school would have had something like this when I was in high school, so I’m glad you shared that you liked them. STEAL as many resources that you can! You well need them when you begin teaching!
      I really like your opinion on grammar too, that it’s a tool for polish. Agreed!
      I do like your format and for some reason, google sites just did not like me that night I tried to set it up on there. So, I defaulted to the wiki, which is actually incorrect. I enjoyed checking out your project proposal. It was really cool to read about your linguistics class a bit, it reminded me of my Linguistics class in college where we had to memorize the International Phonetic Alphabet… let’s just say I didn’t get an A. Best of luck to you too Dominique! Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

