Weekly Reflection 4/11

Here’s a funny comic from the book I use to teach diagramming sentences.(At the bottom)20160404_161715

I went to yoga tonight and they always tell you before we begin class, normally my intention is something like, get through the lunges, dude! Tonight, though, it was, be at peace with where you are at tonight. There are some girls that are doing side crow and the splits and I’m just on my mat struggling with getting my hamstrings to even attempt some stretches. So, as I started to think about what I wanted to write my reflection on, I thought, just be at peace with where you are in your project, Kaitee.

I have made significant progress over the last week, but I am not where I would like to be. However, where I am is to the point where I am realizing some faults and good aspects about how I taught this unit. By going over this unit with a fine-tooth comb, I am realizing some things I need to change up for next year. Yay to finding flaws and realizing you probably should have taught something a different way!

The first thing I noticed that I should change was on from week one of my journals where I sometimes used predicate and verb interchangeably. It started on day 1 when we started discussing simple subjects and simple predicates. The simple predicate is the verb. I probably should have made that clear when in the same day we moved on to complete predicate. That would have been the best time to explain: Alright, class, the simple predicate of a sentence is actually the verb and the complete predicate is the verb and everything else that goes along with it. At some point, we did clear this up, but when talking about sentences, it’s not taught that a sentence is made up of a subject and a verb. It’s made up of a subject and a predicate.

If you’ve ever listened to Lil’ Wayne, btw, in one of his songs he mentions that he “got through that sentence like a subject and a predicate”.

I have also came up with more practice ideas, because I’ve always vouched that applying learning grammar and writing to a student’s own life will help foster learning, because it’s relevant. Instead of giving the students handouts with sentences to diagram, which is what I did. I came up with some other practice of having them write 5 sentences and diagram them once they’re done. The kicker, though, is that you can’t tell them they are going to diagram them until they are done writing the sentences. Otherwise, the students will be thinking about how they are going to diagram them before they even begin writing the sentence.

I have found another resource that goes into more depth that what I do when teaching diagramming. I only taught students how to diagram up to where my Language Network book stopped, which was after diagraming direct and indirect objects. Later in high school, these same students will go into more depth with two more teachers that have much more experience that I do. If you check out this resource, my experience ends at #11, adverbs.

Doing this assignment has made me practice the concept of reflection when it comes to the process of teaching, which is great. It’s also made me more aware of the language I need to be using while teaching diagramming. I hope that this can do as much as it is for me for other.

Stew out, exhausted.

 

Leave a Reply

